The Comic Panel Awards is now known as the FIST AWARDS. Now in it’s 5th edition, the prestigious prime industry award will continue to inspire acute ingenuity in Nigerian comic artists, writers, publishers and everyone that plays a role in making a comic book.
The Judges for this year’s awards are:

Abdulkareem Baba Aminu (Chief Judge)
Alausa Abolaji
Sewedo Nupowaku
Esther Mojisola Fabunmi
Ayomidotun Freeborn
Dapo Olasiyan

The judges were picked on the basis their respected status in the industry of arts and for the trust of their fairness giving that as far as the Fist Awards secretariat knows, they are not affiliated to any comic publisher.
Further details on the judges will be released in the coming weeks.


There are 11 categories for this year’s awards. This means 4 additional categories to last year’s 7. Below are the award categories.

Best Artist
Best Colourist
Best Writer
Best Packaged Comic
Best International Comic (Picked by the Chief Judge)
Best Sci-Fi Comic
Most African Oriented Comic
Best Child-Friendly Comic
Most Consistent Comic Series
Neophyte Awards
Fan Choice Awards (Voted by a popular poll)


The Judging procedure for the FIST AWARDS is a simple process where by each of the six (6) judges score each comic book sent in by applicants on the basis of all the categories. At the end of scoring, the scores are collated and the top 5 comic books with the highest total score under each parameter gets to be the nominees.
The judges are then required to make a final vote of which nominee becomes the winner. Again, the nominee with the most votes from judges becomes the winner.
Two categories are however exempted from this procedure. The Best International Comic is solely picked by the Chief Judge and the Fan Choice Award is chosen from a popular poll of comic fans.
Click on the opposite photo to download the full judging procedure document.


The Comic Panel secretariat hereby call for entries for the 2017 edition of the FIST AWARDS.
To enter, send us your comic books in PDF format using the Subject: FIST AWARDS ENTRY.
Send to
For Neophyte Awards; send a PDF copy of the comic with evidence that the first issue was published in the judging year.
For Most Consistent Comic; send a PDF copy of all the issues of that title published in the judging year or a link where we can find them online.
For Best Web Series; send us a link to where the issues released in the judging year can be found online.
For Best Newspaper Cartoon; Send us a PDF file of ten of your best strips originally published in the judging year.
Entry opens on April 2 and closes July 31.


To be eligible to be entered for the FIST AWARDS, a comic book must:
 Have been released between the 31st of July of the previous year and the 31st of July of the year of award.
 Be published by a comic company based in Nigeria or artists who are Nigerians.